Ich on my blue tang

Discussion in 'ASAP' started by 110gal_Ty, Mar 25, 2011.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. 110gal_Ty

110gal_Ty Plankton

Ok, So I have a 110 gal tank with 1 blue tang, 2 oc clowns, 1 yellow tang, 1 platinum sifter goby.

The blue tang has ich (little white spots on body, constantly rubbing himself on the rocks, not really eating)

I have only had this fish for about two weeks... the tank is about 4 months old.

What do I do?

Forgive me I am a beginner at this, your posts will be greatly appreciated.

2. Click Here!

3. Corailline

Corailline Super Moderator

Try to enhance the diet with garlic or selcon or equiv. Add as much marine algae to the diet as you can, nori sheets and such.

The parasite is already present in the tank so try to provide the best possible water conditions and reduce any stress to the fish you can.

You can treat the fish in a QT but it may become re-infected once re-introduced to the system.

Good luck.

4. Sacul1573

Sacul1573 Millepora

A blue tang is one of only a few fish that should be QT'd for treatment ONLY as a last resort. They are stressed easily, and are very susceptible to ich. Try to leave it in the main tank if possible. Chasing it around with a net and introducing it to a new environment could stress it enough to tip the odds against you.

Coralline is right, try to enhance it's diet and get it to eat.

5. AquariumJunkie

AquariumJunkie Plankton

did you resolve this issue?
    I am having ich problems with 4 y/o tang and the LFS sold me some herbtana sh** that did absolutely nothing!!! cost me $20 and dori is still suffering!!! really don't want to lose her :(

6. schabiazabi

schabiazabi Astrea Snail