I got pods! (Newbie)

Discussion in 'Fish Food' started by shusi, Oct 15, 2011.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. shusi

shusi Plankton

Hey guys / gals,

I am new to this hobby and having an awesome journey so far. I just finally got a light for my tank as well as a par of clowns. While observing my tank closely, I found out I have a colony of pods growing in my tank. I'm super excited. Going to post up a video as soon as I get a chance. They are those little dots by that yellow spot in the center of the picture. Also I bought my lr and a amemone came with it. Can anybody help identify it? I want to see what a mature anemone of it's kind looks like. Thanks for

http://img444.imageshack.us/i/imagebgh.jpg/

http://img37.imageshack.us/i/imagewpi.jpg/

Last edited: Oct 15, 2011
  2. Click Here!

3. ricoop

ricoop Skunk Shrimp

I'm not 100% sure, but your anemone you got with you LR looks like maybe the pest anem aiptasia

4. shusi

shusi Plankton

Thanks ricoop. So should I remove the anemone?

5. txny13

txny13 Spanish Shawl Nudibranch

+1 on the aiptasia

6. txny13

txny13 Spanish Shawl Nudibranch

it would hot hurt to remove it

7. ricoop

ricoop Skunk Shrimp

You may want to see what somebody else says, but it looks like aiptasia to me. If it is you need to get it out asap. they will spread like crazy and harm other livestock. check around on here for what to do, but I haven't personally dealt with them yet.

8. Click Here!

9. grinder37

grinder37 Whip-Lash Squid

it is aiptasia,just take a coffee cup of tank water and nuke it in the microwave til boiling,then carefully direct the boiling water on the nem using a turkey baster or syringe.

1 person likes this.
  10. 55gfowlr

55gfowlr Zoanthid