I Am New, Is This Ich? PLEASE HELP!!!

Discussion in 'Fish Diseases' started by lawenforcer, Jan 5, 2012.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. lawenforcer

lawenforcer Plankton

Hello,
    I just set up my first tank a few days ago. I bought this tank off an individual and everything come with the tank. Including this Lionfish. I just noticed that it has several white spots on it. I am new to this but I tried to research ich. This looks like that might be whats on him. I sure do hope not. No sooner than I get into Saltwater, I would be getting out of it. He has been eating just fine and don't show any ill effects. PLEASE HELP!!! Thanks

Attached Files:

2. Click Here!

3. link248

link248 Ritteri Anemone

I don't think it's ick. Lionfish have a few white spots on them. If it had ick it would be an outbreak of small white spots. If it was ick, feed pieces of shrimp soaked in garlic guard.

Even if it was ick, it's not a big deal to want to get out of the hobby

4. link248

link248 Ritteri Anemone

Here is a picture of my stepson's tang when it had ick. I fed it mysis shrimp soaked in garlic guard and it went away after about a week

Attached Files:

5. lawenforcer

lawenforcer Plankton

Thanks

Thanks for the response, I sure do hope that it isn't ich. I guess I am just really concerned since I am new to this hobby. I wouldn't necessarily get out of it but this would be a bad start to a new hobby.

I appreciate anyone's opinion on this. Thanks

6. cosmo

cosmo Giant Squid