How to take care of an easy coral

Discussion in 'Coral' started by TheSaltwaterGuy, Nov 11, 2010.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. TheSaltwaterGuy

TheSaltwaterGuy Banned

Ok so I'm new to corals and I need some help choosing one, but more importantly, I don't know much about taking care of them. Any general rules for taking care of them, and any suggestions for beginner corals?

2. Click Here!

3. sostoudt

sostoudt Giant Squid

provide proper water quality and good lighting. those are the basics, not those maynot be sufficient for every coral but are for most.

beginner corals are zoas and mushrooms, there are others but those are the most common.

4. Jay Reef

Jay Reef Feather Duster

Each coral requires different things whether it be an easy coral or difficult. The difficulty usually means the easier the coral, the hardier it is when it comes to fluctuations in chemistry and adaptability.

5. MoJoe

MoJoe Dragon Wrasse

agree with everyone, let us know what your set-up is & what lighting you have, those will determine if you can support coral.

If you don't have anything yet, let us know what you want to keep and then we can let you know what you'll need to support it.

Many easier LPS & Softies can be supported with basic decent lighting, but as you get into coral you will need to make sure your levels for Alkalinity, Calcium, Magnesium, & Phosphates is in check. Some of those elements are replenished through water changes but many of us also dose our reefs with supplements to keep them all steady.

6. anpgp

anpgp Dragon Wrasse

7. unclejed

unclejed Whip-Lash Squid

Most any leather coral, Toadstools, finger, devils' claw. Mushrooms, Green Star polyps, Button Polyps.

8. Click Here!

9. TheSaltwaterGuy

TheSaltwaterGuy Banned

Ok thanks everyone. I actually started off with some corals but wasn't doing well since my tank has been through a LOT of changes.

10. drew3

drew3 Blue Ringed Angel