How to get clownfish to host anemone??

Discussion in 'General Reef Topics' started by ancarol99, Jan 17, 2012.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. ancarol99

ancarol99 Plankton

Hey, this is my first time on here... and i need some desperate help!!

about 3 days ago i bought a Green BTA that is looking GREAT. I bought it for my 2 ocellaris clowns (which are about 1" big) thinking that they would host it. Problem is, the BTA decided to stay on a rock, on the other end of the tank, that right under it, just so happens to be my bullet goby's home, and i think he is attacking the anemone. Plus, he doesn't let one of my clown fish get close at all. (the other clown isn't showing any interest, he has been in the tank the longest, and already has a home, i bought the other one the same time as the BTA, and he shows some interest)

I have tried taping pictures up, and that doesnt seem to work, i dont think they can even see it cause the glass shows the reflection from inside the tank.

I tried splitting up the tank, and the clowns got out.

I want to move the anemone to where the clownfish sleep, but they seem to "host" the power head, and i dont want anything to hurt the anemone, and i dont want to rip it off the rock.

I have run out of ideas, any tips??? How can i get them to host?? :confused:

2. Click Here!

3. inwall75

inwall75 Giant Squid

Welcome to 3Reef!! 3 days isn't exactly a long time. Are your clowns wild-caught or aquacultured. Sometimes it takes longer for tank-bred clowns to go to anemones. Sometimes they never do.

4. khowst

khowst Bangghai Cardinal

It's the other way around. Anemone's host clownfish.