How much sand for a 55 gal tank

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by fantomas, Dec 3, 2007.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. fantomas

fantomas Astrea Snail

I'm VERY new to SW but am currently on my way to setting up my first tank. It will be a FOWLR. Needless to say I've bought a few books and have been reading those front to back a few times and browsing here and other forums (This I think is my favorite) trying to learn as much as I can.

Anyways, on to my question. I'd like to get a jawfish because they seem to have a lot of personality like my FW Angels and brackish green spotted puffers. I've been reading that they need 3-5" of sand. The problem is, its sold by the lb, not cubic inch. About how much sand would I need to fill the approximate 2496 (13"x48"x4") cubic inches?

2. Click Here!

3. fantomas

fantomas Astrea Snail

aww crap just looked around some more and found the calculator...

4. omard

omard Gnarly Old Codfish

[​IMG]

To 3Reef!!!

Salutations! Glad to see you found way here! ;D

Save a bundle on sand and look for the following at your local Home Depot - If they don't have in stock...they may order for you.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Available at other sources on web. --- shipping may be a bit pricey - but usually total cost will be much less then the packaged "aquarium" sand found in most LFS's...

Whatever you do...do not use regular "playground" sand!

Good Luck!

The Tao of Marine Aquaria
    Tips for Our Hobby and Life

© 1997 Adam H. Whitlock
    Edited By Elizabeth M. Lukan 11/25/00

5. fantomas

fantomas Astrea Snail

Thanks! I'm heading out to HD right now to see what they have.

6. geekdafied

geekdafied 3reef Sponsor

Southdown got bought out. I cant remember who makes it now.

If you're going to HD, look for pavestone crushed limestone, not the pulverized.

7. omard

omard Gnarly Old Codfish

That would be "Yardright"

Argonite Sand