How long should i wait to get a mandarin??

Discussion in 'Tropical Fish' started by saints fan 420, Jun 30, 2011.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. saints fan 420

saints fan 420 Expensive Colorful Sticks

tanks been up about a month and a half...got about 200+ pounds of live rock...i know i have pods...ive had 2 pod blooms for sure, both times water was cloudy and had the white things all over the glass...but i still cant see any walking around like in my previous tank...

also can how many could i get for my 150.. i would like a pair of spotted and a pair of reds

oh yeah, i also have a fuge with cheato and deep sand bed

2. Click Here!

3. SAY

SAY Ocellaris Clown

i would give it at least six months but i am not an expert. four seems like a lot for a 150. Will they have any competition like wrasses for example?

4. Vinnyboombatz

Vinnyboombatz Giant Squid

I would say maybe two but four wouldn't be sustainable.IMO

5. insanespain

insanespain Ocellaris Clown

If you want one sooner, order a bag of pods and a pod hotel from garf.org. do you have a sump? If so u can breed them in the sump and then feed em to the display

Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk

6. barbianj

barbianj Hammer Head Shark

Because you're not new to the reefing game, I would get one now, and train it on Nutramar Ova and/or bloodworms. If you can work your way up to four Mandarins trained on prepared foods, I don't see a problem.

I've got two Mandarins, two Dragonface Pipefish and a seahorse in a 125, and wouldn't hesitate to add more Mandarins if I so desired. Once they are trained, they go from difficult to easy to keep.

I helped a friend of mine set up his first reef tank. Within the first few months, he got a Mandarin, trained it on Nutramar Ova, and it's doing great. If he can do it, you can, too.

7. barbianj