How do you know if the protein skimmer is working

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by queshibo, Nov 27, 2006.

  1. queshibo

    queshibo Astrea Snail

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I am new to this hobby. I purchased a 75gal tank about a year ago when I was back in the states. I built my own stand and everything except for the filter. After about 9 months of putting this tank together, I was finally able to get it set up. Live rock is illegal to collect here in Hawaii, or have it imported which makes my case a little more difficult. None the less there are ways ways of getting rock. So now I will start. My wet/dry filter has a protein skimmer built into it from pro aquatics. How do you know if its working right and is it supposed to be running all day 24/7. If i let it run, it will take out about a 1-2 gallons a day of water. I dont really get the mud type fluid that I see alot of people talking about. Can someone help me out with this problem.
  2. Click Here!

  3. inwall75

    inwall75 Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    7,168
    Location:
    America
    I couldn't find anything from Pro Aquatics on the Internet to help you. However, I did find some things from Proclear Aquatics. Is that what you have?

    Pro Wet Dry
  4. nemo79

    nemo79 Zoanthid

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,119
    Location:
    ontario, canada
    skimmer

    How long has the skimmer been running? Some of them take a week or two to kick in. I have the remora skimmer and mine doesn't remove thick gumk either but it still removes a brown liquid.

    Are you planning a fish only or a reef set up? If you could get one or 2 pieces of liverock the rest could be a base rock and the liverock would seed the base. I have 40lbs LR in my tank and 20lbs of tufa rock which has already seeded from the LR. In only 5 months and my tufa is turning purple, has critters on it.
  5. Blade_Runner

    Blade_Runner Gigas Clam

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2004
    Messages:
    851
    Location:
    Carpentersville, IL
    I'm not familiar with that brand either.

    It does sound like you have WAY too much output for a 75. I have 600g in system and don't draw that much in a week. What type of controls do you have on it? Off the cuff, it sounds like the water level is too high in the skimmer. Is there a waste gate or adjustable output that you can open up?
  6. queshibo

    queshibo Astrea Snail

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    50
    Location:
    Hawaii
    sry it is the proclear rated for 150gal. i have the water level in the sump just below the egcrate. The only control that i have is for the pump which allows to turn on and on off the bubbles or amount of air going into the skimmer part