How do I control algae

Discussion in 'Algae' started by David marabella, Oct 16, 2015.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. David marabella

    David marabella Astrea Snail

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    image.jpeg How do I get my Algae under control? I do tests.everything is in or below the normal parameters. Is there something I should put in the tank to help with this
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. Piano10

    Piano10 Aiptasia Anemone

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2015
    Messages:
    581
    Well it depends on the algae. Most of the time its a nutrient issue.

    What size tank, what are your nitrate and phos levels, how many fish, feedings, lighting hrs? How old is the tank

    To control algae is to find the source its feeding off of.

    In the pic it looks like you have some standard green algae on the rocks but another green algae in the substrate. Is it hair algae?

    Do you do weekly water changes, do you vacuum the substrate, what media do you use?

    Some more info about the tank will help
     
  4. David marabella

    David marabella Astrea Snail

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    The tank is 3 1/2 months old. 30gal. I do weekly water changes Up to 20%. There are only two clown fish in there. Nitrite nitrate ammonium pH levels are all within normal parameters. I use matrix bio fill Traciann and foam for my filter media. With A carbon media bag. 25lb live rock, 20lb live sand.
    There is no hair algae in the tank just the other normal green algae.
    I'm going to try to put some photo guard and pure gin in the tank after the next water change. image.jpg
     
  5. SAW39

    SAW39 Ritteri Anemone

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    633
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    Your nitrates may be good because the algae is scarfing it up to grow. I've been reading a lot lately about algae turf skimmers. That, or a refugium, could help your problem.
     
  6. civiccars2003

    civiccars2003 Great Blue Whale

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,827
    Location:
    Akron Ohio
    Get a RO/DI system from spectrapure and a good clean up crew from reef cleaners.
     
  7. David marabella

    David marabella Astrea Snail

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    Thanks
     
  8. Click Here!

  9. ivanbosk

    ivanbosk Feather Duster

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    216
    Location:
    Savannah GA
    a couple of questions...

    do you use ro/di or tap water to make your water change water?

    what kind of filtration system are you using?

    what/how often are you feeding your clowns?

    what type of lighting and how old are the bulbs?

    is your tank near sunlight?
     
  10. David marabella

    David marabella Astrea Snail

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    Messages:
    31
    I have a ro/do pro water filtrate system.

    All I have for fill Traciann is a filter pad and sponges.

    Feed the fish twice a day.

    I use the stock lighting that came with the bio cube and it's only 3 1/2 months old .

    The tank does not get any direct sunlight.


    I'm trying to find ways to upgrade to fill Traciann system. any ideas?
     
  11. oldfishkeeper

    oldfishkeeper Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2012
    Messages:
    7,660
    Location:
    Cincinnati
    what is fill traciann system?
     
  12. David marabella

    David marabella Astrea Snail

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2015
    Messages:
    31