Horror stories

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by reezy1, Jul 21, 2008.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. reezy1

reezy1 Astrea Snail

Hi gang. Since I am fairly new to this hobby, I was wanting to hear from more experienced hobbiest. I was curious to what some of your beginner "horror stories" were. Things that went terribly wrong when you first started and how you kept the motivation going to succeed at the hobby. Can't wait to hear them all. C'mon, don't be shy. I'm sure everyone has at least one story to share. lol

3 people like this.
  2. Click Here!

3. swagger87

swagger87 Zoanthid

WTF?!?!
    My Marineland Eclipse 12gal saltwater tank BROKE!!!!!
    LITERALLY BROKE!
    I've had this tank set up now for a little over 8 months now and had a very nice set up going on.
    Ah, the beginning...
    My tank was cycled first with 3 tiny hermit crabs
    (not to mention the stow aways hiding in my live rock, glass anemone, peacock freatherdusters, bristle worms, amphipods)
    I eventually added 3 peppermint shrimp to the tank to rid my pride and joy of those nasty glass anemone.
    {Shrimp=> <=Anemone}
    After the risk of my fishies dying from the anemone, i slowly added 4 pretty little damsels.

My Horrible Discovery...
    I walked into my dining room to gaze upon my wonderous (yet tiny) undersea playground....then i saw it....not a knick...not a scratch...

You know that grotesque thing that happens to a window when a rock hits it....

Yeah...that delicate crackle pattern....

Conclusion...
    I dont know how it happened.....
    I dont know what to do....
    All i know is
    I feel SICK!

4. schackmel

schackmel Giant Squid

where should I begin!!!!