HOB Refugium, Cool or Crap?

Discussion in 'Refugium' started by euthyphro, Dec 14, 2006.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. euthyphro

euthyphro Flamingo Tongue

2. Click Here!

3. euthyphro

Ok, here it is. I have a 45 gallon tank. It will mostly be composed of coral. For now I am looking to spend between $50-$100 max. Considering that I am just starting out, and will most likely upgrade to a better system, what do you think i should start out with and would be easy to upgrade? A canister filter, a hob power filter that has a bio wheel and blace for carbon in the back, or should i go with a hang on refugium and some type of filter. Or should I skip all that crap and go with a sump/refugium right off the bat?

4. OoNickoC

OoNickoC Bubble Tip Anemone

I would go with the canister, skip refugiums until your into year 2ish of reefing. the hang on back type only work when tuned in finley....and even then can be unstable. I only trust large refugiums that are in combo with a ph controller (co2 system to compenste for the huge ph swings they can cause). They are an awesome form of filtration, but fine tuning them and getting them to actually work is tricky and decieving. If you only have 100 then i would simply save up a bit longer.....otherwise youll be spending alot more in the long run regaurdless.

5. Matt Rogers

Matt Rogers Kingfish

Don't know if it's crap, that's not a design I see every day. I kinda like it even if it's small. And may be crap. :)

Lot's of crapping this evening? ;D I LOVE SUMPS. And refugiums. Get a sump and put the refugium where ever you want. It doesn't have to be in the sump, it can be on the side of the sump or on top of it. Or it could still hang on the tank. One good thing about having a refugium outside of the sump is that you can gain more control of the flow through it and not worry about getting stuff in your sump pumps as much.

Last edited: Dec 14, 2006
  6. Dyngoe