Hey guys! Have a few questions!

Discussion in 'Freshwater Aquariums' started by Jtwilliams, Jul 30, 2012.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Jtwilliams

Jtwilliams Plankton

Well I am new to this hobby and I learning so please bear with me. I have a 55 gal set Saturday. I have 60 pounds of Eco complete substrate and marineland penguin 350 hob filter.

My question is will my filter be enough for discus? I was thinking of running two but one of my lps chains said it will hurt more then help. I did take it with grain of salt because he told me tiger barbs go good with goldfish. I wont over board on the questions just yet!

2. Click Here!

3. Ryan Duchatel

Ryan Duchatel Millepora

Discus are quite a finicky fish. They require very stable water parameters with slightly acidic (six point eight) and harder water. IMO they are not good for a first tank, but if you want to add them, I would wait 3 or so months for your bacterial load and water chemistry to mature then add them.

The harder water is usually achieved just through the hardness of tap water. The acidity will need to be dosed, but this isn't to hard, but can change with every water change as the water from your tap is about 7.2. You may need to add some pH down (acid) every water change for discuss.

If you keep a steady water change schedule and wait for the filters to get up the bacterial load it should be ok. In terms of that filter, its not a good choice. For a tank that size, you really want an external cannister filter, it costs more money but is a much better filtration option ( and keeps unsightly filters out of your display). You aim for approx 10 times turnover an hour.

Feeding them can also be a challenge. They like a varied diet of meaty and algae flake and some brineshrimp etc. helps alot.