Resolved Help!!!!

Discussion in 'ASAP' started by ctfishguy75, May 11, 2011.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. ctfishguy75

ctfishguy75 Plankton

Hi,
    I am new to the hobby and hope someone can help me. I just finished cycling my tank and picked up my first 2 fish yesterday. I bought a Clown and Purple Firefish.
    I'm just noticing today that the Firefish has what appears to be excess mucus or something on the side of the body. It looks like 4 small bubbles that that have popped or something, and I even saw some of the mucus slide off the bottom of the fish. I didn't notice it yesterday, but he hid in the rocks most of the evening so I never got a real good look at him.
    He's eating fine and appears normal, so I don't really know what to do next. From what I've been reading, it doesn't really look like ich to me. My water tests are below, and I've tried to include a picture for you. It's difficult to see because it's almost transparent. Also, it is only on one side of fish. Any ideas? Thanks in advance for your help.

PH: 8.0 (A little low, I know)
    Ammonia: 0
    Nitrites: 0
    Nitrates:15-20
    Phasphates: .25

Attached Files:

Last edited: May 13, 2011
  2. Click Here!

3. Corailline

Corailline Super Moderator

ctfishguy75,

Fire fish find a "bolt hole" in live rock, sometimes they receive scrapings or wounds from the rock work. As long as he is eating, eyes are clear he is probably going to be ok. I would just keep a close eye on it, consider Melafix if it appears worse.

Good luck.

4. aw1447

aw1447 Montipora Capricornis