Help with Hydrometer

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by adamSpline, Jul 16, 2008.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. adamSpline

adamSpline Plankton

Hi all,

I am completely new to saltwater. I have a 10 gallon which has real ocean water, and I plan to continue to use ocean water for the time being, but I still need to figure out the salt level to account for evaporation and such.

I picked up an "instant ocean" hydrometer by Marineland labs(the cheap plastic looking thing that looks like a gas gauge). However, I found the instructions in the package to be absolutely awful, and I am not sure how to properly use it. Exactly how far do I fill it with water from the tank (if I fill it the whole way with water it maxes out the meter), but there is no bar to know how far I should fill it.

So, has anyone used this hydrometer, and if you have and suggestions that would be great.

Thanks,

-Adam

2. Click Here!

3. Bogie

Bogie Snowflake Eel

You have to submerge it in the tank and pick it up out of the water. Make sure no air bubbles are clinging to the swing arm, and that's your salinity or SG level.
    Of course most would rather trust a calibrated refractometer, and it only uses an eyedropper and 3 drops of tank water, so more accurate and less mess.:thumb_up:

1 person likes this.
  4. PharmrJohn

PharmrJohn The Dude

Just dip into the water and fill it up. The needle will do the rest. You may have to flick it a few times with your finger to get the needle to move. You have to account for temperature though. A "true" reading on those is based on water that is 60 degrees. For each 10 degrees rise, you subtract .001. So if your reading is 1.025 at 80 degrees, the real specific gravity in your system is 1.023. And I would take my sample from the middle of the tank, not just skimming the top.

Wash it out after each use with tap water so salt crystals don't mess with the needle.