Help getting started towards keeping corals???

Discussion in 'Water Chemistry' started by K_Tibbs70, Aug 29, 2004.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. K_Tibbs70

K_Tibbs70 Plankton

Hi everyone!

I've been keeping a fish-only tank for several years now, with fair to decent luck. I'm looking to start getting into corals & inverts. I decided to start of by just trying to get coralline algae to grow in the tank. Just this past friday, I did a 10 gallon water change, added 13 pounds live rock with a good amount of coralline on it on top of my existing base rock, and over the course of the next 2 days have added 2 to 3 teaspoons of reef builder, reef advantage calcium, and 5 teaspoons of reef advantage magneseum in the top-off water ( not at the same time, mind you. a different buffer with each water addition). I need some advice on exactly how I should go about this process. It appears that a good portion of the coralline on one rock near a powerhead has turned white already. I bought a seachem alk & ph test kit, and a calcium test kit, and to be honest, I'm not sure how to read the results. I know that on the alk test it took me 20 drops to change from bue to yellow, and you divide the # of drops by 2, but what does that tell you? the calcium test took about the same amount of drops to complete. Any ideas or suggestions would be helpful. The tank is a 55 gallon with a 10 gal wet/dry sump and an Excalibur hang-on skimmer and a Customsealife powercompact light fixture with 4 65-watt bulbs( 2 white, 2 actinic) and 4 moon lights.Thanks!!

Kenny

2. Click Here!

3. Bruce

Bruce Giant Squid