Hello everyone!

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by whelms, Nov 12, 2007.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. whelms

whelms Astrea Snail

I've been lurking here for a few days and decided I liked this site so much better than the others I'd been lurking on that I joined.

The people on here seem very knowledgable but and informed but not so technical that a newbie can't understand.

I'm a dreaded Newbie but I'm having a great time with my first tank. A couple of things I would love to find answers to but first a bit of history:

My tank is a little bitty 12g Nano that I started 6 weeks ago. After 5 weeks I chose to take out the crushed coral and put in live sand. I also took out the bioballs and ceramic disks and put live rock in to replace them. I have about 12 pounds of live rock in the tank also.

#1 - Since putting in the sand my tank heats up really quick. With the light on it gets to around 85 degrees. What can I do except keep light off and put a fan where it blows into the tank?

#2 - Do I need to wait for another cyle since changing out the coral with live sand and removing the bioballs and ceramic discs?

#3 - A hermit came home on some live rock and he's nekkid. I've bought him 3 different shells but he is being a house snob apparaently-any suggestions?

2. Click Here!

3. lunatik_69

lunatik_69 Giant Squid

First off, welcome aboard. Iam no expert, but I will try to answer the best I can.
    1. What kind of light are you using? Do you have a/c? Is the tank covered completely?
    2. You might want to wait just a little longer before introducing anything else, just in case.
    3. The only time hermits change their shells is when they out grow the old shell. Just let nature take its course.
    Luna

4. geekdafied

geekdafied 3reef Sponsor

5. ziggy222

ziggy222 Fire Goby