Hello Everyone! New Tank Build

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by mkdsjones1986, Nov 23, 2015.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. mkdsjones1986

mkdsjones1986 Plankton

Hello Everyone,

I am new to 3reef, and I was just going to say hello and describe my plans for my 75 gallon reef build. I had a 40 gallon reef for two years back in college and, my moving around from apartment to apartment back then eventually drove me to shut it down. Im hoping some of you guys could give me some suggestions on equipment i have purchased or things you think i need in order to get this build underway. I am starting a 75 gallon reef with a DIY stand and a 20 long DIY sump that I have already built. I will list off the equipment i have gotten thus far. I have drilled the tank and installed a 1200 gph overflow and plan on running the overflow into a filtersocks in the sump. Im going to be using the herbie method. I bought a tds meter and tested my artisan well water, and was surprised and bummed to find out my water is reading 440 TDS. Is this number crazy or is that somewhat normal?
    Im asking for a brs ro/di value plus system for xmas.

Sicce voyager 3 (planning on getting a second one and a wavemaker at some point. I have a maxijet 1200 until then)

Danner mag 9.5 return pump.

Two 165 watt mars aqua led fixtures.

Eheim 200 watt jager heater.

Aqua C Remora hang on protein skimmer that should work in my sump.

Im planning on brs reef saver rock and a shallow sand bed.

What else do i need?

Thanks

2. Click Here!

3. Corailline

Corailline Super Moderator

Welcome to 3reef. :)

Sounds like you're on the right track with the new RO/DI system, yes that TDS number will eventually case algae issues at best.

Why go with a HOB skimmer if you're drilling the tank and have a sump?

DSC reef likes this.
  4. Vinnyboombatz

Vinnyboombatz Giant Squid