HELLO! Clown Emergency Please Help

Discussion in 'Say Hello!' started by cactus_jak, Aug 14, 2008.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. cactus_jak

cactus_jak Plankton

Hi I am new, from Toronto Canada.

I have been a hobbyist, for 8 years now, with a 55 gallon saltwater tank.

We just recently moved 2 weeks ago and conducted a tank move. My clowns (2) were very healthy and large, the male was always smaller but over the last several days he has lost alot of body mass, and looks very ill. No visible signs of stress or spotting.

Today I noticed he is laying on his side (partly upside down) and breathing heavily. I tried to net him out into a quarantine and he swam a little. I have had him for 8 years now and dont want to see him pass, is there anything I can do, reading posts it seems like a Clown Specific Parasite (not sure of the correct terms)... What can be done to treat if anything???

I am desparate at this stage, as the store I deal with said let him die.

Thanks

2. Click Here!

3. missionsix

missionsix Super Moderator Staff Member

I'm wondering if you had a wierd spike in parameters after the move?

4. KOgle

KOgle Zoanthid

Boy I don't really know what to tell you. How is the other clown?

5. cactus_jak

cactus_jak Plankton

The other clown is looking healthy, large and still eats aloot.
    She is swimmimg around the other and curious to knwo where he went, as she keeps swimming where he was last laying.

Is there a solution/liquid treatment I can use? I don't want to contaminate the rest of the tank?

6. KOgle

KOgle Zoanthid

If one of them is fine I would lean towards stress from the move. Don't know for sure though.

7. adam

adam Montipora Digitata

Clownfish