Hang on overflow

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by agustim, Nov 10, 2010.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. agustim

agustim Astrea Snail

I want to build a sump for my 55gal tank, but it does not have an overflow already built in. Any opinions about hang on overflow boxes? I've heard CPR isn't very reliable and that I should go with an eshopp one. Also, any ideas about how to set up the overflow so that it an air pocket doesn't form over time and break the siphon? Thanks for the help.

2. Click Here!

3. stepho

stepho Panda Puffer

You can get a tom's aqua lifter and put the intake in the u-tube so it pulls air bubbles out.

4. trijam

trijam Coral Banded Shrimp

I've read and seen a few DIY mods where u can run an aqualifter pump attached to the u-tube to ensure constant siphon. Personnally I have no experience other than the research I googled. I too am just now finishing up on the rest of my equipment needs before I begin. I'll be following along with this thread.

5. salt4me

salt4me Skunk Shrimp

The cpr overflows has the 3/16 tube in the top to hook an aqua lift pump to. That is a plus because if power fells it can start its own siphon back once water reaches a certain level in the tank. I watched the CPR vid, on fosterand smith and they said Tom's aqaua lifter or a powerhead, one thats has the air siphon on it. The Eshopp ones i have seen doesnt have the siphon on the tubes, once it is broken it doesnt start back that i know of. I did a DIY suction type, just a shepards hook with a "T" pipe and caps. I drilled and put 3/16 tube in top and ran it to a powerhead i all ready had. It started itself and has worked great. There is a guy with CPR type for sell for 40 bucks on here also.

6. blackraven1425

blackraven1425 Giant Squid