hair algea

Discussion in 'Algae' started by botie, May 20, 2008.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. botie

botie Feather Duster

i have been battling hair algea for the past 2 months all perams. are good put a phos reactor in didnt faze it put a fox face in wont touch it i dont know what to do im ready to give up please help

2. Click Here!

3. wildreef

wildreef Stylophora

First off botie it's gonna take time and some work.
    Its harder to rid your self of it than to aquire it.
    phosphate reactor working right ?

1,If you would like to help it by taking rock out one at a time and scrub it with a stiff brush ( do your best to knock as much off ) then swish it round in a bucket of clean RO/DI water and repeat as needed and put it back in your main tank.
    ( do this quickly so as not to impact coraline as much )

2, Cut your lighting down to 7 hours "total time" and make sure your bulbs are up to date , replace old bulbs.
    ( bulbs older than 10/12 months WILL lose their spectrum over time and certain spectrums of light just make some algae's grow like wild fire )

3, cut down on feeding your fish and make sure you have a decent cleaner crew , such as a couple of turbo snails, some small red legs., etc. ( they also consume algae )
    ( I MY self have wittnessed my sally light foot eat bubble algae ), i'd had a few spots on the rock and i was amazed to see it eat it. ( cleaned the whole spot off ).

4, also if your skimmer is adjustible ( water flow from it ) you can "wet skim" you'd be amazed at it , IT WILL PULL OFF THE SLIGHTEST OF particles, including algae spores.

4. botie

botie Feather Duster

wildreef what do you mean by wet skim i just whent to brand new mh 4 days ago so bulbs are good i was told fox face fish love hair algea so i got one and he hasnt touch it

5. wildreef

wildreef Stylophora

Do you have pics of your tank you can share ?