Hair algae!!!!

Discussion in 'Algae' started by Camkha1234, Jun 25, 2012.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Camkha1234

Camkha1234 Great Blue Whale

How do I get rid of it? I've been picking it by hand for about 2 months, scrubbed it off the rocks with a toothbrush in a bucket and added some PhosGuard in my HOB 5 days ago. Nothing I've done has seemed to help. What else can I do?

2. Click Here!

3. SpectraPure

SpectraPure 3reef Sponsor

You could be introducing phosphates and silicates via your source water. Check to make sure you are using DI water reading 0TDS on a TDS meter.
    Once you have that in line, continued use of phosphate absorption media and regular water changes will work but you must keep at it aggressively. It could measure undetectable with testing, but will continue to leach out of the rock and substrate until equilibrium is reached.

FYI Phosguard is depleted rapidly, so consider some type of GFO.
    If not employed in a fluidized reactor, make sure it's placed in a high flow area when using bags.

Shane,
    SpectraPure, Inc.

4. Camkha1234

I'm not sure what my LFS's RO/DI water's TDS level is at, but it's what I've been using. I do a water change every 2 weeks, is that enough? And I have the PhosGuard in a very high flow area. Should I change out what I have in there with more?

5. Camkha1234

6. scadsobees

scadsobees Fire Shrimp

Ask the LFS to do a TDS check for you when you pick up your ro water just to be on the safe side. That shouldn't be a problem for them.

7. SpectraPure

SpectraPure 3reef Sponsor

Either use a phosphate test like Red Sea or a checker preferably a Hanna to determine when you need to replace the media. When using fresh media you should see a drop in levels when they no longer begin to decline and are on the rise, it would be a good indicator it's time to change.
    Weekly water changes are better when dealing with algae issues.