Grounding probes

Discussion in 'Filters, Pumps, etc..' started by verbal, Nov 18, 2003.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. verbal

    verbal Astrea Snail

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Messages:
    60
    Location:
    Piermont, NY,New_York
    Hey everyone,

    Just wondering if anyone out there is using a grounding probe, and if so, do you notice a difference?

    With all of the electrical equipment in my sump, I was just wondering if its worth getting one.
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. inwall75

    inwall75 Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    7,172
    Location:
    America
    Grounding probes protect your fish and corals from stray current.

    Ground fault interrupt circuits protect "YOU"!!!

    You should have both IMO
     
  4. Jason McKenzie

    Jason McKenzie Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    5,538
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC,Canada
    I would have to agree with Curtswearing (inwall75) Mind you I will get zapped one of these days as I do not have GFI circuit on my current set-up

    By the Way Inwall75 Why the change in User Name?
     
  5. inwall75

    inwall75 Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    7,172
    Location:
    America
    I'm inwall75 at most places. When I joined a particular board I just used curtswearing for some reason.
     
  6. inwall75

    inwall75 Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    7,172
    Location:
    America
    I want to clarify my previous answer (which is correct). You should have both a probe and GFCI or neither. You can have GFCI without a probe but shouldn't have a probe without GFCI.
     
  7. Boomer

    Boomer Feather Duster

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    245
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
  8. Click Here!

  9. inwall75

    inwall75 Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2003
    Messages:
    7,172
    Location:
    America
    Howdy Boomer!!!

    Curtswearing here. Thanks for the input.
     
  10. Craig Manoukian

    Craig Manoukian Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    3,330
    Location:
    Marina del Rey, California
    Great link Boomer, thanks!
     
  11. Scuba

    Scuba Fire Shrimp

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2003
    Messages:
    302
    Location:
    Mid-west, Illinois
    I just thought that a grounding probe was a wast of money, but after reading Boomers link I belive I will get one.
     
  12. aseidman00

    aseidman00 Astrea Snail

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    52
    Location:
    Staten Island, NY,New_York
    I've been zapped... its not pleasant.

    An old powerhead was evidentally not well sealed and loose current was in my tank. Who knows how my fish must have felt and how long they suffered with it ! That said, I've addd a grounding probe ( a cheap one, but still a grounding probe). Does it work ??? Who knows.. I have not experienced any problem since I've installed it (years ago)... but hey for a few bucks you might as well add it to your system to protect yourself.. and more importantly your fish !