Getting 70g setup Friday... Need Help!

Discussion in 'Fish Tank Brands and Kits' started by zerocool5878, Apr 11, 2007.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. zerocool5878

zerocool5878 Plankton

Ok I just started my first tank a few weeks ago and it is still cycling. so I am very new to all of this but im pretty exited about this.
    I was at the fish store yesterday just looking around and a guy came up to me and asked if I would be interested in a salt water setup established for over 7 years. Very cheap.
    I was intrigued and started asking questions.
    Here is what he has.
    70 gallon tank with light oak stand, new pump and bulk heads, protein skimmer, Wet drybox, about 60pds of rock (not live), and 2 - 4' double bulb light strips. Includes 2 big purple tanks, 1 big Yelow tang, 2 tomato clowns, p__?__ angel, a freshwater puffer that is 11yrs old and was converted 4 yrs ago to salt and another fish i cant remember what it was called.
    Also he is throwing in an acrylic 55 gallon hex tank with stand lights external pump, cooling fans and rock (again lot live)
    And everything he has for them like food, testing equ., ect.
    $400 for everything
    I saw the tanks and they are mint except for the layer of green algea on all the sides. It is dark green you cant really see in the tank very well. I opened the tank and there was no smell at all. I tested the water and everything seems fine I guess he just didn't clean the glass on the tank much or lately anyway.
    I just couldn't pass this up.
    Well now down to what i need help with. I got a friend that is going to help me with the move and im going to give him the hex tank as a gift.
    Im going on Friday morning to take care of this move. I bought 12- 5 gallon pails with lids for Home Depot. I plan on taking all of the water for the 70gal and reuseing it.
    The guy said that the sand is loaded with beneficial stuff so I should reuse it?