GBTA issues and preventing them?

Discussion in 'General Reef Topics' started by nanomania, Feb 24, 2016.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. nanomania

nanomania Vagabond Butterfly

Hey guys, iv just built a new tank, though imnnot tht new to hobby, but im new to nems. Im planning on a gbta, coz its the most hardy nem and not agressive and good for beginners.

Iv heard many issues of gbta committing sucide by crawling to the wavemaker. Iv got a few questions:

1) what should be done to prevent it from sucide?
    2) what shud be the best placement?
    3) what if it crawls in the front of the glass, then how to rwmove it?
    4) do i need to feed it or its fine?
    5) can i introduce it in a month old non lit new tank?
    6) is it ok if i introduce clowns before the nem?
    7) what if it actually commits sucide, will it kill all my fishes and inverts? (45g tank)

2. Click Here!

3. cody3819

cody3819 Bubble Tip Anemone

How old is your tank?

4. Swisswiss

Swisswiss Caribbean Reef Squid

1) what should be done to prevent it from sucide?
    good water chemistry/adequate lighting and a mature tank
    2) what shud be the best placement?
    It will find "the best placement" on its own, this is the added risk factor. you should never "force" a nem to stay in a place it does not want to. this will not only stress the anemone out, but result in a waste of energy on its part, since it will keep moving away from where you placed it. this may and will ultimately kill your animal either by exhaustion and stress or because it ends up shredded by pump...
    3) what if it crawls in the front of the glass, then how to rwmove it?
    slim chances it will stay there but if it does it should not be removed (easily from glass) unless utterly necessary
    4) do i need to feed it or its fine?