Urgent Fuzzy Spots on Balloon Molly

Discussion in 'ASAP' started by Molly Lover, Mar 18, 2013.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Molly Lover

Molly Lover Plankton

I am new to the world of fish and do not have a lot of experience. I started my tank around the middle of November of last year. I started with four fish and my tank has grown steadily since then. About a month ago I got two balloon mollys. Yesterday I noticed my black balloon molly has fuzzy spots on its sides and her eyes look fuzzy. My silver Balloon molly has one spot on her side but it doesn't look fuzzy. My Bala Shark has become very thin. My Dalmatian lyertail molly has now became white on his back from his dorsal fin to his tail. I have moved the Dalmatian and black mollys to separate tanks. I am very concerned with all of them. :confused::confused::confused: Any help you can give me would be great!!!!

2. Click Here!

3. swank1234

swank1234 Astrea Snail

sounds like columnaris because of the fish with the white on its back, but pictures would be helpful.

Honestly there sounds like several problems could be going on, but the "fuzz" i is going to be the most immediate in problems to solve. Have you tested your water parameters? Typically issues like this are caused by poor water quality and treatment will only be a temporary (but still very much needed immediately) solution.

I would immediately do atleast a 20% water change, I would reccommend more, but usually atleast 20% is easily doable for most people.

Have you added any aquarium salt to your tank? Mollies are a brackish water fish and a small bit of salt will help with gill function expecially when sick. (NOTE: aquarium salt is NOT the same as table salt.)