Fragging a Devil's Hand leather coral. results

Discussion in 'Frags' started by zesty, Nov 12, 2013.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. zesty

zesty Sailfin Tang

I'm fairly new to fragging other than my frags that break and then I glue them somewhere else...

I want to pay it forward with a healthy chunk of my devil's hand that Mr Todd sails gave me when I just started the reef adventure. My girlfriend (Jamie) has a friend with a SW tank that she wants me to share a chunk, no problem with me. Mine has grown since I've gotten it, it could use a trim.

I don't plan on making a bunch of tiny frags, I just want to slice off a chunk and get it attached to a rock and give it to her. I'm planning on delivering Thanksgiving weekend as that's when Jamie will see her friend. Is this enough time for the piece to cut off to recover?

I have done some initial research, but not a ton. Leathers release toxins when cut. So I would assume it's better to remove from the tank to slice? The problem there, is the leather is attached to a very bottom rock and I'd be tearing down half of my scape to get to the rock with the leather on it. I assume it's not a good idea to just rip it's base from the rock?

Then it just seems like it needs to be rubber banded to a piece of rock and it will attach?

I was thinking on taking off about 1/3 of the piece, shown by the awesome red circle. I don't want to cut into the "stalk or base" of the coral, but just to remove a chunk from the side.
    [​IMG]

Is there anything I'm missing or anything I'm about to do that's wrong? Dipping, I know I didn't cover any dipping, what should I do there?

I plan on putting the cut frag in the fug section of my sump where there is lower flow for the piece to heal and attach to the rock. Sound good?

Thank you in advance!!

Last edited: Nov 19, 2013
  2. Click Here!

3. mikejrice

mikejrice 3reef Affiliate