Food in tank?

Discussion in 'Fish Food' started by Nando7, Feb 27, 2007.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Nando7

Nando7 Plankton

Should I clean out the pellets that I am feeding my clownfish that fall to the sand? It seems once the food falls to the sand the clownfish want nothing to do with it. The pellets are very small and I am only feeding them a tiny bit, being they are still getting acclimated to my tank. I think I should get a net and get the food that they don't eat out, but I wanted to get some of your opinions first. Sorry I am a super newbie, thanks.

2. Click Here!

3. mattgeezer

mattgeezer Montipora Capricornis

yes you should take out any excess food . maybe you should invest in some cleaner shrimp or some hermits , they will clean up the left overs . Stop any bad nitrates starting ... you dont want that

matt:)

4. Nando7

Nando7 Plankton

Thanks, yeah i have one hermit but he seems to stay on the LR... I will def. get the excess out.

5. Nando7

Nando7 Plankton

Well that didn't work to well. I tried to get the old food out with a net and of course it disintegrated into tiny particles and went all over the tank. A lot of it went into the filter as well as the clowns ate a little of it. Also how often should I be feeding the clowns? They are tank bred clowns by the way. So are the pellets my only option?

6. djnzlab1

djnzlab1 Aiptasia Anemone

maybe a different food

HI,
    I am new to saltwater too, but the one thing I keep reading is phos/bio load, this occur when fish eat and filters eat and snails eat and the bacteria in the sand eats.
    So everything we put in the water goes away either as it dissolves or biological waste as food for bacteria/crabs/snails. this all adds up to waste.
    If you have a good skiimmer you help pull out dissolved waste or NOC thats mostly dissolved waste not protein.. any food that makes it to the sand is poo for ths system even if you have hermits.