finding the right fish

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by Buzz1ightyear, Mar 3, 2014.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Buzz1ightyear

Buzz1ightyear Astrea Snail

hey everyone sorry if this has come up before but i was wondering what you guys look for when your buying a fish at the LFS. how do you tell what fish looks the healthiest is there certain things you look for. im new to the hobby and have only got two damsels and two clowns. when i chose my fish i looked for which ones had the best color and seemed to be the most active. so what do you guys look for?

2. Click Here!

3. Mr. Bill

Mr. Bill Native Floridian

I usually look at color and activity, and make sure it actively feeds and has no visible injuries or parasites.

4. dienerman

dienerman Corkscrew Tentacle Anemone

Just like Mr Bill said, those are the things to look for. Most stores will feed the fish if you ask and this is a good thing to do, particularly with fish that are known to be picky eaters. I also like to know what Im going to get BEFORE i go so that I am not making an impulse buy and make a mistake. Liveaquaria.com has a lot of information on individual fish and of course you can always get answers here to you stocking list questions. Good luck and welcome!

5. Corailline

Corailline Super Moderator

Clear eyes, fins completely intact, no fraying. A fish swimming with the group not isolated off by itself. If one fish in the tank looks sick I choose from another tank.

6. chris adams

chris adams Purple Tang

Besides what Mr Bill said I also ask how long they have had it.. I do not buy something they have had for less than a week + and prefer a couple weeks(can make it hard to find what you want though because others buy right away).