Feather Duster

Discussion in 'ASAP' started by Guest, Jan 19, 2004.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

I purchased a feather duster about 2 weeks ago. It was doing fine and looked healthy until last night I noticed that the worm came out of its casing. It was alive laying on the floor of the aquarium. The casing was not smashed or anything. Can anyone tell me if the worm will eventually make a new casing or if it will die being outside of it? Thanks!

2. Click Here!

3. Craig Manoukian

Craig Manoukian Giant Squid

Stacie,

Welcome and do feel free to register here!

I am not an expert as I've never owned one of these bigger polycheates, but if there are no predators, I believe this may be normal behavior and it will rebiuld its casing.  I will check and see if I can find some info or link to post that will be more definitive.

4. Matt Rogers

Matt Rogers Kingfish

A month or so ago a few of us went over this scenario if you do a search..

I believe myself and at least one other person found that they tend to die eventually once they have left their tube.

Maybe you will be luckier though. :-/

5. Guest

Guest Guest

Thank you both for your replies. It appears that the feather duster did die. :'( Maybe I will try another one somday.

6. Craig Manoukian

Craig Manoukian Giant Squid

That's a bummer Stacie. Hope we were of some help. Do join and feel free to post anytime!

7. Gresham

Gresham Great Blue Whale