Fastening corals

Discussion in 'Frags' started by rashr, Apr 5, 2006.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. rashr

rashr Spanish Shawl Nudibranch

I was wanting to know what you guys use to fasten corals to your rock? I have seen super gel glue, epoxy, and other items but the way I have my rocks I really can't or don't want to take out the rock(s) to glue the corals to them.....any info or advice would be appreciated.......As you can tell I am a newbie and as of right now all I have are mushrooms and they were easy to place. I was wanting to go up to like a fox coral, torch coral, Frogspawn, and or Finger Leather. Being new to this I was told these were good choices for beauty and ease of care.....any input on this would be great too! Thanks in advance.

2. Click Here!

3. amcarrig

amcarrig Super Moderator

For soft corals that are already attached to a rock, I use epoxy. For soft corals that are not already attached to a rock, I use a rubberband or toothpicks to secure the coral to a piece of rock first, then attach that to the rockwork with epoxy. For LPS corals, I use epoxy. For sps corals, I use super glue gel to attach the coral frag to a piece of rock first, then attach that to the rockwork with epoxy.

1 person likes this.
  4. coral reefer

coral reefer Giant Squid

Some people have used wire ties(plastic). Don't know how effective though!

1 person likes this.
  5. rickzter

rickzter Torch Coral

I use aquastik epoxy for hard corals or softies on rock. Softies not attached to rock, I use a mesh net to keep them on the rock and let them take to it naturally. Of course, if it's a soft coral that does not take to rock that easily, like Colt, using rubber bands is a better choice, but might squeeze it.

I used Zap gel for a while but stop using it because it cures extremely fast under water. Zap gel would be better suited if taking rock out to glue frags on.

6. Area 51 Exotics