Emergency Drain questions???

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by Drboomson, Oct 2, 2013.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Drboomson

Drboomson Flamingo Tongue

Im new to the hobby (really new) but id like to think i have some general knowledge that compels me to ask the question of "WHY"...If my sump is capable of holding an additional 10g (much more than my in tank overflow can hold) and my main tank can hold, much more than my return section in my sump and ATO in the event of a failure, than why do i need an emergency drain???? Some ppl are being so adament that i have one and i guess im jsut not seeing the full picture. I mean unless 2 of my 1/4" baffles break in my sump and my drain gets clogged at the same time, i dont see the point. Im just getting the feeling ppl were told by someone else to have one without thinking for themselves, so again without thinking they tell everyone they know its madatory to have one. I have simulated a power outage and turned everything off at once, and not even close to flooding. So please if anyone has a legitimate reason on why one should have an emergency drain please let me know cuz im jsut not seeing it.

2. Click Here!

3. insanespain

insanespain Ocellaris Clown

Emergency drains are there so that if your main drain clogs, you don't overflow your display tank. The return pump will pump all the water from the return section in your sump into the display and overflow it if you have one drain and it clogs.

4. insanespain