Ecoxotic LED Lighting

Discussion in 'LED Aquarium Lighting' started by sramos1104, Mar 23, 2011.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. sramos1104

sramos1104 Plankton

Hello -

I am new to saltwater and looking to slowly build a 75 gallon saltwater tank. I bought a used tank, stand, and canopy from craigs list and I am currently refinishing the stand and canopy.

I have researched LED lighting and my LPS recommended the Ecoxotic LED Modules because you can built and customize to your liking. They recommended 4 on each side which means I'm buying 8 at about $100 a piece. Does this sound like a good amount or too much? I'm looking to have fish as well as coral in the 75 gallon tank. Of course, I'm only going to buy coral that don't need more lighting that 8 LED modules can produce but I'm just curious is that's a good amount of lighting.

Thanks!

2. Click Here!

3. RedGambit

RedGambit Giant Squid

You can find cheaper LED's however like you stated they are more customizable doing this route to get the spectrum and color you desire.

I run 2, ecoxotic par38 bulbs on my tank. :) I do love them and the two bulbs alone give off a great deal of light extra to the aquarium.

4. Seano Hermano

Seano Hermano Giant Squid

Are we talking PAR38s? Personally, I think there are better options (still LED) for the money.

5. fischkid2

fischkid2 Dirty Filter Sock

PAR38s or Panorama fixtures? I have 6 Panoramas on my 56g along with a T5 bulb and a few stunner strips and the lighting is great and corals are happy.
    If your talking 8x Panoramas on your 75g tank you should be set. You may have to put your corals w/more light demand higher up on the rock but most will do fine anywhere in the tank.

6. sramos1104

sramos1104 Plankton