Does your aquarium have enough water circulation?

Discussion in '3reef Site Polls' started by Matt Rogers, Nov 4, 2008.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

Does your aquarium have enough water circulation?

  1. Yes.

    55 vote(s)
    64.0%
  2. No.

    20 vote(s)
    23.3%
  3. I don't know.

    11 vote(s)
    12.8%
  1. Jason McKenzie

    Jason McKenzie Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    5,538
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC,Canada
    Yes 370G Display, 90G Sump (not that it's full), 30G frag tank.

    Check out my link in my signature to my tank thread
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. Dr.Fragenstein

    Dr.Fragenstein Panda Puffer

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2,108
    Location:
    SE Wisconsin
    I have a 180 with over 40 times turnover, achieved w/ PHs and a return pump. The flow is TOO strong for my LPS
     
  4. tigermike74

    tigermike74 Panda Puffer

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,114
    Location:
    Southern CA
    Hmmm...
    My 20G: has a Fluval 304 for 260gph, which is closer to 200 after 2' head. A Koralia Nano 240gph and a Seio for 620gph. I think that has enough flow, but I still get some GHA problems, but no cyno after adding the Koralia and the Seio. I have an extra Koralia just in case I wanted to add more flow, but I think it may be too much at that point. ~1000gph
    My 150G: has a return Rio 3100 for about 800gph, 2 Koralia 3 for 850gph each and a Seio 820gph. ~4300-4400gph This tank can stand to have more flow added. I can't really upgrade the return pump, my overflow is rated for 800gph. Looks like I may need more in-tank pumps.
    My 65G is not running, so it's got 0gph hehe.
    And my nano 12G QT is running ~200gph upgraded pump.
     
  5. baugherb

    baugherb Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    5,205
    Location:
    southington, ohio
    Hob filter rated at 40 gallons, and a rio nano skimmer for flow.. Then again a 5.5 gal doesn't have much volume..LOL...
     
  6. fishoholic

    fishoholic Purple Spiny Lobster

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    453
    Location:
    Albuquerque NM
    125gal I have about X36 turnover 3-MJ-1200 2-#4 koralia 1-#3 koralia , mag return 9.5
     
  7. gazog

    gazog Kole Tang

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,785
    I have a 75 Gallon with Sequence Reeflo Dart Pump on a closed loop with 4 outlets that after accounting for the piping and head it should be pushing 2600 gph. An my return pump Is pumping at about 600 gph for a total of 3200 GPH or 42x turnover
     
  8. Click Here!

  9. Dakota569

    Dakota569 Spanish Shawl Nudibranch

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    85
    Location:
    So Cal
    24 gallon Aqua Euro with 2 160gph in the back of tank, and 200gph pump on my chiller and 1 Koralia #3 at 850gph . So I guess that puts my tank up into to proper flow rate...
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2008
  10. feixjai

    feixjai Fire Worm

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    I have a 40g with a 1000g return pump, and aquaclear 405, and a aquaclear 205.

    I always thought I had enough flow, unfortunately I thought wrong. Well after I change out my sump/wet&dry, I'm changing out all the pumps and adding koralias. =]
     
  11. abraKADAV3R!

    abraKADAV3R! Feather Duster

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    202
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    I have a 46 gal bow front with a fauval 304 canister filter, a skimmer, two koralia 2's, and powerhead with a rotation deflecter for a sweet wave effect... i think i have enough current for my softies, dusters, and anemones;D;D;D
     
  12. abraKADAV3R!

    abraKADAV3R! Feather Duster

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    202
    Location:
    Boca Raton, FL
    ZOMG lol