Do you use a protein skimmer?

Discussion in '3reef Site Polls' started by Matt Rogers, May 1, 2008.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

Do you use a protein skimmer?

  1. Yes.

    84 vote(s)
    80.8%
  2. No.

    20 vote(s)
    19.2%
  1. Matt Rogers

    Matt Rogers Kingfish Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2000
    Messages:
    13,466
    Location:
    Berkeley, CA
    Do you use a protein skimmer?

    If so, what kind?
     
    Last edited: May 2, 2008
  2. Click Here!

  3. BayBud

    BayBud Spanish Shawl Nudibranch

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2007
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    London, UK
    No skimmer for my 24g nano, i would perhaps consider it if i had a larger bioload, at the moment i still consider myself in the young tank stage (almost a year old) i only have a few peppermints an urchin and copious amounts of coraline algae and about a hundred million sponges lol.

    Im thinking i might need one though if i get a Tubastrea.

    Generally though i keep my water in good condition with weekly water changes (about 10%) and nice macro algae, but as i say my bioload is small.
     
  4. omard

    omard Gnarly Old Codfish

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2003
    Messages:
    4,745
    Location:
    Silverdale, Washington
    Do have a filter sock on skimmer outlet...:-/
     
  5. MILLERTIME

    MILLERTIME Feather Duster

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Messages:
    209
    Location:
    Palm Beach, FLORIDA
    i have a seaclone 100 for my 90gal in my sump
     
  6. amcarrig

    amcarrig Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9,219
    Location:
    CT
    Nope. Don't see why I would need to?
     
  7. wildreef

    wildreef Stylophora

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    978
    Location:
    Louisville, KY ( derby town )
    I run a Aqua C, EV 180 series.

    I would think if the tank was small, you wouldint need to
    1, water volume is low enough and real easy and inexpensive to change a few gallons out if even every other day.
    2, And in a nano tank or small tank say up to 40 gallons
    and a light bio load , then no i dont suppose ya'd need one .

    Larger tanks yes, it's harder to get flow and and keep every thing clean
    such as amonia/fish waste.

    But i would suppose it would really depend on the load a person would have or plan to have on any given tank size .

    always said we don't maintain tank or fish , we maintain "water quality" .
    every thing depends on the water being as clean
    an enviroment as possible.
    and in a reef set up , it adds to the equation with all the other additives we have to supply.
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2008
  8. Click Here!

  9. Executivelevel

    Executivelevel Peppermint Shrimp

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    428
    Location:
    Detroit, Michigan
    run a prizm on my 120, a rio nano on my 5.5, and a aqua c remora on my 50
     
  10. diggardens

    diggardens Feather Duster

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2006
    Messages:
    202
    Location:
    Charleston,WV
    Aqualine 250 on my 90g
     
  11. Tangster

    Tangster 3reef Sponsor

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    5,644
    Location:
    Va/Ct
    We run a Bullet 3 and until the change I always ran ETSS skimmer's on larger tanks I never saw or heard of a need for skimmer filter ? Do you mean filter the water before the skimmer or let the outlet water run through Carbon and filter padding as we do to filter and remove any residual Ozone

    Seems 54% of the people here have found the need ? I must be missing somthing here ,
     
  12. ardo_ski

    ardo_ski Peppermint Shrimp

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    424
    Location:
    Grand Blanc,MI
    Currently using a My Reef Creations MR-2 Beckett skimmer. My system has about 200 gallons total. This skiimer is running off of a Iwaki 70 pump that also provides return water to my display and deep sand bed tank.