Do you use a calcium reactor?

Discussion in '3reef Site Polls' started by Matt Rogers, Apr 18, 2009.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

Do you use a calcium reactor?

  1. Yes.

    19.3%
  2. No.

    80.7%
  1. Iraf

    Iraf Snowflake Eel

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,389
    Location:
    Tulsa, Ok
    MRC CR-1 with a mag 3 recirc pump here, I also use B-Ionic in my nano though
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. IxLr8

    IxLr8 Plankton

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2003
    Messages:
    6
    Location:
    Thousand Oaks, CA
    I use the same.
     
  4. GAZBO

    GAZBO Fire Shrimp

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2009
    Messages:
    300
    Location:
    Wenatchee Wa
    I don't use one myself just cause my wife already thinks I spend enough money as it is even though I told her it would pay for itself over time. I just add Saliferts coral cal. for now.
     
  5. Dr.Fragenstein

    Dr.Fragenstein Panda Puffer

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2,108
    Location:
    SE Wisconsin
    DIY 2 part for the Doc..
     
  6. wastemanagement

    wastemanagement Eyelash Blennie

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2007
    Messages:
    1,252
    Location:
    Quebec City
    I have a Deltec PF-600, sitting around waiting for my new 150gl to get up and going .At the moment I am dosing turbo calcium for a few small frags
     
  7. Tangster

    Tangster 3reef Sponsor

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    5,644
    Location:
    Va/Ct
    For a magnesium additive and reactor ? Yes you simply add some dolomite to the calcium reactor media , A C reactor is not a gotta have item with many corals like all softs and most LPS corals even some SPS But once you get to the level of an all SPS tank also and some rather rare and expensive SPS corals in that tank , Then a Reactor Becomes a Gotta have for long term growth and health , The SPS corals are very demanding of top quality and very stable water parameters and will not tolerate very many swings in Calcium Carbonate and Mag levels , When you keep coral worth thousands then a couple of hundred is not a huge investment.. I'd not keep SPS's with out a Ca reactor again . In the early days of the SPS keeping I did dose by hand but I also used to own cars thar needed to be pushed to get started :) Now days I just want to turn a Key .. Much easier and simpler

    I have never seen or known of anyone who sucussufly kept a SPS dominated tank long term with out a lot of worry and wrok or a calcium reactor .Myself comes to mind first
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2009
    1 person likes this.
  8. Click Here!

  9. BluePhish

    BluePhish Teardrop Maxima Clam

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    821
    Location:
    Buffalo N.Y.
    nicely said.lol
     
  10. Jason McKenzie

    Jason McKenzie Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2003
    Messages:
    5,538
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC,Canada
    I just recently got rid of my CA Reactor. Instead I'm running 2 part in a dosing pump system. I have found it much more stable and easier to adjust.
     
  11. Matt Rogers

    Matt Rogers Kingfish Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2000
    Messages:
    13,466
    Location:
    Berkeley, CA
    What system are you using J?
     
  12. pgoodsell

    pgoodsell Horrid Stonefish

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,059
    Location:
    Sparks, Nv
    Just aged yourself there LOL