Do you use a calcium reactor?

Discussion in '3reef Site Polls' started by Matt Rogers, Apr 18, 2009.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

Do you use a calcium reactor?

  1. Yes.

    19.3%
  2. No.

    80.7%
  1. Matt Rogers

    Matt Rogers Kingfish Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2000
    Messages:
    13,466
    Location:
    Berkeley, CA
    As more and more reef aquarium hobbyists are moving toward SPS corals, has a calcium reactor become necessary?

    Do you use a calcium reactor?
    If so, which one? How is it working for you?
    If not, how do you maintain calcium levels?
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. rysam

    rysam Astrea Snail

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Messages:
    36
    I just built a calcium reactor a few months ago and honestly i wonder why it took me so long. I got real tired of daily dosing of 2 part, I could never get my levels stable. since i added the reactor it has been at a steady 460 cal, 8 alk, and 8.0 ph. Growth has been off the hook. I still add mag every so often until i get around to building a dolomite 2nd chamber.
    [​IMG]
     
  4. 10acrewoods

    10acrewoods Fire Goby

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,337
    Location:
    Carbondale Il
    I use 2 part mix usually b-ionc
     
  5. cuttingras

    cuttingras Starving Artist :)

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    4,884
    Location:
    Louisville, GA
    I was wonder, if you can use a calcium reactor, could you also use a magnesium reactor? do they make such an animal? pH reactor?

    ditto 10, me too
     
  6. PackLeader

    PackLeader Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2008
    Messages:
    5,716
    Location:
    Reno, NV
    Not running one currently, but will be down the line on my 200
     
  7. jakeh24

    jakeh24 Pajama Cardinal

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,428
    Location:
    reno, NV
    i decided if i wanted to try different types of corals i would need to dose so i got
    some supplements for cal and mag
    I don't even think a reactor could fit anywhere in a 14 gallon biocube :D
     
  8. Click Here!

  9. R34dawn

    R34dawn Ocellaris Clown

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    1,464
    Location:
    Garden Creek,VA
    200??? gallon??? wow PackLeader!!! really can't wait to see that, way to go!
    I haven't had a need for one, I guess I need some more livestock before i could consider one
     
  10. 10acrewoods

    10acrewoods Fire Goby

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,337
    Location:
    Carbondale Il
    calcium reactor is a ph reactor in a sense. mg would be a dosing system. You don't make manesium plus do you really dose mg all that often. I mean reguler to make an auto doser
     
  11. Otty

    Otty Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    6,467
    Location:
    Elizabethtown, IN
    Heck yea! Wouldn't run a tank without one. KNOP C is what I use.
     
  12. BluePhish

    BluePhish Teardrop Maxima Clam

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    821
    Location:
    Buffalo N.Y.
    i use b-ionic also with great results so far. 30-40 ml of each a day.keeps me at 9 kh 430 calcium. mag is added once a week in my water change. 1400

    works great but the task of adding it can be annoying. as well as u cant miss a day.

    this is in a 60 gal sps.

    2 1 gal jugs at 32$(for both) every 3 months is not to bad.

    i would say a reactor is def needed for anything bigger than a 75 gal if your going sps. or 2 parts would get expensive.

    its them damn monti caps we put in our tanks. the way them things grow they got to soak up the elements.