Diatoms and Cyanobacteria help

Discussion in 'Algae' started by Brendan Z, Feb 29, 2012.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Brendan Z

Brendan Z Spanish Shawl Nudibranch

I need some help. I have been battling both diatoms and cyanobacteria for a couple months now. Tank is relatively new yet (I think around 8 months). It is a 90 gal DT, 10 gal Fuge and 10 gal sump. My Fuge is also covered in Cyano which is choking out my macro algaes, so every once in a while I turn the lights out for a couple days and let it die back a bit but once I turn the light back on, it spreads like crazy again. In the display tank it seems to grow mainly in the bottom left corner (which is low-flow and I haven't been very successful in increasing flow without stirring up the sand bed), but is also in other areas as well but not as heavy as the bottom left corner.

In January I switched from tap water to RO/DI water thinking that was the cause of the diatoms, and it did help significantly but I still get a dusting on the glass that needs cleaning maybe every 4-5 days or so.

I feed the tank once a day, mostly frozen mysis or brine shrimp, so I don't think I am over feeding.

My params are as follows:

Nitrate: 10ppm
    Nitrite: 0
    Phosphate: .5ppm (I think, it was the first color on the chart)
    Calc: 280
    Temp: 79
    PH: 8.1

I am basically looking for some type of list of causes and solutions relating to these 2 "algaes" so that I can go down the list and try each solution to see if it helps.

In regards to the fuge - Is there anything I can do to stop the Cyano from growing in there being that I am basically providing an ideal environment for it to grow (Low flow, 18 hrs of light)?

Any help is appreciated.

2. Click Here!

3. Stovebolt-V8

Stovebolt-V8 Feather Duster

That BAD green stuff