Dead clown fish

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by tylerbrasseux, Dec 23, 2015.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. tylerbrasseux

tylerbrasseux Plankton

Hello! I'm new to all of this so any advice is greatly appreciated. I have a 29 gallon bio cube with 19 pounds of live rock, 4 hermit crabs, and a small Kenyan tree. I've been dosing my tank for 4 days now using stability. I've added a clown fish on Sunday, he ate every night for feeding time and seemed happy. This morning I woke up and he was dead. I tested my water, PH 8.0, ammonia 0ppm, nitrite 0ppm nitrate 0ppm, and my temperature stays between 76-78 degrees. I'm not sure my salinity. Any ideas of what could have caused my clown to die? The Kenyan is very happy and doesn't seem bothered by anything..

2. Click Here!

3. Piano10

Piano10 Aiptasia Anemone

How long have you had the tank?
    If its a new tank, it may not have gone through a cycle. It takes anywhere from 2-6 weeks for the cycle to complete.

Was there anything physically on the fish like white spots, slime, runny poop etc?

What water are you using tap, distilled, rodi? What is your filteration and maintenance?

Salinity needs to be checked, how did you set up the tank without salinity reading?

Consistency in salinity, temp, and perameters is essential.

4. tylerbrasseux

tylerbrasseux Plankton

I'm using RODI, my salinity was check about four days ago at my local fish store, not 100 percent on the numbers but the guy said its right at where it needs to be. It's going on 11 days since my tanks been running, and no, there wasn't any signs have any sickness on the the fish. He seemed very healthy and would eat the right amount. Didn't see any change in behavior just went to bed and woke up and he was dead.

5. cody3819

cody3819 Bubble Tip Anemone