Cycling

Discussion in 'Water Chemistry' started by trent51593, Feb 19, 2008.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. trent51593

trent51593 Coral Banded Shrimp

Hello im new to the saltwater world and im cycling my tank and i was woundering if its normal to see a high reading (higher than 1.0) of ammonia but when i check for nitrite there is none. The tank has been cycling for about4 or 5 days. Any suggestions, please feel free to tell me all. lol

2. Click Here!

3. coral reefer

coral reefer Giant Squid

The beginning stages of a cycle and its all part of the natural process! It will take time but your nitrites and nitrates will start climbing eventually before all is said and done! Keep testing your water to see where your tank stands in the cycling process!
    Continue filtration but DON'T do any water changes til cycling has concluded!!!!!!!
    My advice to you is to read, research and then read some more and spend alot of time here on 3reef for the utmost success!!!!
    Good luck!

4. MushroomHead

MushroomHead Astrea Snail

I absolutely agree with coral reefer.

DO NOT get too excited and jump the gun on adding things.
    you want to be 100% sure you are finished cycling b4 any additions(maybe damsels).
    my friend added a few damsels about 3 days after setting his 75 up, they r still with us today, but only b/c damsels are really tough and somewhatreally hard to stress out enough to kill lol

5. rudzy17

rudzy17 Astrea Snail

should one run the skimmer during cycling if utilizing Berlin method of filtration?

6. coral reefer

coral reefer Giant Squid

Yes as it will help clean your water and offer additional dissolved oxygen into your water!

7. trent51593