Crushed Coral Vs. Sand

Discussion in 'Sand' started by Reefaholic, May 1, 2011.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Reefaholic

Reefaholic Plankton

My local reef shop suggested that I use crushed coral in my tank I am setting up, everyone I've heard from here says no, use an aragonite. I'm new to this whole thing, and don't know what the drawbacks of CC are. Could someone please tell me what the pros and cons are so I don't sound like a complete idiot when I go to order aragonite. Allso, what do I use to determine the size of the sand I want? It's the only shop we have locally so I will be using him for many of my purchases. Thanks.

2. Click Here!

3. bvb-etf-luva

bvb-etf-luva Banned

sand looks much more natural and can help maintain a tank with all the bacteria and such. however cc doesnt cloud at all when adding new water. but sand looks much more natural.

4. jspicer16

jspicer16 Bristle Worm

Some people say crushed coral will cause nitrates... But I don't think that's true in my opinion. I have used crushed coral from the start two years ago and never have had a nitrate issue...mine actually test zero. I blame the nitrates people get with crushed coral on poor maintenance and possibly to large of a bio load

5. borge

borge Astrea Snail

Both work fine. Trouble with coarser substrate is the detritus it collects faster than breakdown speed, but not knowing how coarse, it may be a moot point.
    Co2 in lower level of the substrate will lower the ph and slowly break down coarser medium, of course in years perspective, but we don't go for any less eh?

Now coarseness and cuc is another thing to keep in mind, then again, I cannot comment due to lack of information.

6. Akool

Akool Astrea Snail