CR's 10 gallon Journal

Discussion in 'Show Off Your Fish Tanks!' started by Coastie Reefer, Jun 28, 2016.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Coastie Reefer

Coastie Reefer Millepora

I've been on and off here over the years, and it's funny how life just keeps "moving" forward. I graduated from USF after doing 8 great years in the Coast Guard, moved back home to Louisiana after graduation, moved 60 miles down the road for work, bought a house (moved again), got married, sold my house (moved again!!)...

My wife and I have bought some land, but we don't plan to build (read move again) for another few years. So I finally have time to get a tank up and running. This will be my record of how it went. Hope everyone enjoys it as much as I do, and I hope this becomes one heck of a cool little tank.

Initial setup: 06/27/2016

Tank: Standard 10 gallon from Petco
    Light: Coralife 24" dual T5 with ATI bulbs
    Filter: Aquaclear 50 HOB
    Heater: ViaAqua 50w
    Flow: Koralia 425
    Rock: 12 lbs Reef Saver Dry Rock from BRS
    Substrate: ~7 lbs of Carib Sea Aragonite Sand
    Location: Spare bedroom (only place the wife approved, for now lol)

Attached Files:

Last edited: Jun 28, 2016
  2. Click Here!

3. civiccars2003

civiccars2003 Great Blue Whale

Nice. Livestock plans? You should do all sps.

4. Coastie Reefer

Coastie Reefer Millepora

No definitive plans on livestock so far. Fish, probably just a pair of clowns. Might include a purple firefish, but not wanting a heavy bioload.

As for coral, I love me some LPS, but a nice stick garden would be cool too. I've always been a fan of acans, trumpets, and hammers... so it'll most certainly turn out to be a mixed reef knowing me.

5. Swisswiss

Swisswiss Caribbean Reef Squid