Copper / Live Rock ...

Discussion in 'Live Rock' started by bernokarl, Jan 25, 2011.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. bernokarl

bernokarl Astrea Snail

Ok : I KNOW if you copper live rock it will be destroid/dead . I am not a scientist and I suspect no one else here is either . SO : If I weed the copper 100% out my water ~~

( I understand it will never come off the rock that was present at the time of copper in water because it attaches it's self )

~~ And add A new piece of live rock , will it sustain the benificial bacteria or will it die just because at one time there was copper in the water ?

I would bet the new live rock will live and the copperd old rock will never turn live again (but I do not know) I dont have a microscope or the patience to test , Lets talk ...

Last edited: Jan 25, 2011
  2. Click Here!

3. bvb-etf-luva

bvb-etf-luva Banned

dont use copper in the tank, in the future you are going to want to buy corals and you wont be able to because copper will stay in the tank forever, ow good its cleaned

4. SushiGirl

SushiGirl Barracuda

You're half right. The old rock will never be live again. But the new live rock won't stay live with anything still in the tank that will leach copper.

And actually I'm pretty sure there's quite a few scientists here ;).

5. TheSaltwaterGuy

TheSaltwaterGuy Banned

Dude just don't use copper in the DT

6. PetMother

PetMother Corkscrew Tentacle Anemone

Don't do it. Copper stays on the old rock but if new rock is placed in, the copper will leach and have horrid effects on the new rock. If snail or other inverts are placed in the aquarium they won't last long either.

7. bernokarl

bernokarl Astrea Snail

So how many parts per millon can be held in a tank with out harming corl or crabs?? . I wish I had the resources to run some big bad test ...