Converting my 45 Reef to freshwater: filtering suggestions?

Discussion in 'Fish Filters' started by CMOS, Feb 14, 2013.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. CMOS

    CMOS Plankton

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Magnolia, TX
    To begin with I will not have any live plants. I want to do a couple things first:

    1) Get the tank and filtration system established
    2) learn a LOT more about being successful with live plants.

    Since the reason I am dismantling the Marine Reef tank is due to lack of time for the necessary maintenance, I don't want to put myself in the same position of having to do significant maintenance on this new freshwater setup.

    More comments on general filtration would be appreciated.

    Thanks,
    CMOS
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. 2in10

    2in10 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,258
    Location:
    Sparks, NV
    I think you will be fine using the current set up and using poret to filter and be your biological filtration. You can always get a canister filter for any chemical filtration needs.

    It is a good idea to research planted tanks thoroughly to see what you like and what it takes to maintain it. You will most likely spend about as much time on the planted tank as you did on the reef.
     
  4. CMOS

    CMOS Plankton

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Magnolia, TX
    Thanks 2-10.

    I don't have ANY room under the tank in the stand for a canister filter so I hope to avoid doing that - unless it's better to completely scrap the sump/fuge and go 100% with a big CF - ?

    Thoughts?

    CMOS
     
  5. Mr. Bill

    Mr. Bill Native Floridian

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4,874
    Location:
    USA
    I agree with 2in10- your current setup should be fine. I don't think you will need a canister unless you add a huge bioload. (ton of fish, or many messy ones). You can hang a media bag with carbon in a high-flow area of the sump if you want.
     
  6. CMOS

    CMOS Plankton

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Magnolia, TX

    I'm really leaning heavily on doing a nice Amazon Tetra tank so my bio load should be minimal. I'm going to find out how to keep Neons or Cardinals alive if it kills me... ;)

    CMOS
     
  7. CMOS

    CMOS Plankton

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2013
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    Magnolia, TX
    small fish and the overflow box???

    Guys,

    If I'm going to do a Tetra tank will I have problems with these little guys getting drawn into the overlfow box through the top slots???



    CMOS
     
  8. Click Here!

  9. Mr. Bill

    Mr. Bill Native Floridian

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4,874
    Location:
    USA
    You shouldn't, but you can DIY a mesh screen cover if you think it might be a problem.
     
  10. FishMagnet

    FishMagnet Plankton

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Kansas City area
    Whats funny to me, or maybe not so funny is that your going to end up spending just as much time on this as you did on the SW tank :)

    But have fun with it!
     
  11. Mr. Bill

    Mr. Bill Native Floridian

    Joined:
    May 28, 2011
    Messages:
    4,874
    Location:
    USA
    LOL... With a light bioload and no live plants, I wouldn't think so.

    I guess everyone has their own idea about how much work it takes to maintain a tank, but IMHO, even my softy reef is no chore at all. Ten minutes per day and one hour each weekend is barely even worth mentioning. :)
     
  12. FishMagnet

    FishMagnet Plankton

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    Kansas City area
    Agreed. I spend probably an additional 30 minutes on my SW compared to my FW.