Clownfish white stringy poop, help!

Discussion in 'Diseases' started by kcbrad, Oct 17, 2009.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. kcbrad

kcbrad Giant Squid

Hi All,

My clownfish has had white stringy poop for quite a while. I think since I got him, about 2 months ago. Since I'm new to this, I didn't realize it could be anything serious. Could it be an internal parasite? Or could it be a diet issue? He eats mysis shrimp, brine as a treat and pellets. He swims around all day, eats fine, looks fine, etc. Water is fine. Ammonia - 0, Nitrite - 0, Nitrate - 20, pH - 8.2.

If it is, should I get the medicine that I can mix in his food? And if so, is it fine for all the fish to eat the medicated food?

I do have crabs, snails, hitchhiker starfish, etc. so I don't know if the medicine would hurt them...

Any help at all would be greatly appreciated, I'm very worried!

Last edited: Oct 17, 2009
  2. Click Here!

3. kcbrad

kcbrad Giant Squid

Anyone? I'm going to be heading to the pet store in an hour or so, so i would like to have an idea of medication to look for, etc.

Thanks!

4. jturnbull

jturnbull Purple Spiny Lobster

I think its fine im pretty sure thats how mine are too

5. FytinIrish992

FytinIrish992 Plankton

it may be the mysis cuz i have noticed that w/ my clown as well

1 person likes this.
  6. Puffer Chick

Puffer Chick Giant Squid

mine have the same white stringy poop as well

7. inwall75

inwall75 Giant Squid

Yup...sounds like an internal parasite. Metronizadole works well. So does praziquantel.

1 person likes this.
  8. Click Here!

9. Bunner

Bunner Bubble Tip Anemone

my lfs has this with every fish i buy from them.... my emperor angel and 2 ocellaris have it.... but it seems to only come and go

1 person likes this.
  10. kcbrad

kcbrad Giant Squid