clown is killing my coral

Discussion in 'Coral' started by Guest, Dec 29, 2003.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

I had just bought a skunk clown and it keeps rubbing in one of my corals like its an anenome, i think i might lose the coral eventually if this continues...any suggestions besides takeing the fish out? i was thinking maybe if i bought a sebae or another anenome (not sure what other kinds skunks are compatible with>) it might go to that. thanks, clif

2. Click Here!

3. SpecailEd

SpecailEd Astrea Snail

"The Orange Skunk Clownfishhas a non-aggressive nature. These fish like to be kept in groups and prefer mellow tankmates. The Orange Skunk Clown does not need an Anemone to survive, but will accept Long Tentacle and Carpet Anemones as its host, as well as corals." I don't think he will kill the coral, though i am not a coral expert, one of the MODs will be better at that than me, but it appears he has taken up with the coral, like he would an anemone. Does he stay in it all the time? My maroons, barely ever leave thier anemone. Chances are if u get an anemone he will take up with it, although it may take some time. However, this is just from my experience, i do not know for certian. Hope this helps you. I think he is just trying to make a home.

4. omard

omard Gnarly Old Codfish

Just talking with my LFS about this yesterday..

Clowns notorious for wrecking havoc on corals such as torches, hammers and flowerpots. (was his explanation why some of his "corals" were looking so "nasty" in one of his display tanks where both kept)

Looking for a "home" I guess, - clown causes coral to constantly "retract" which it apparently does not like - so getting anenome best solution if you want to keep both.

Thankfully, mine are quite satisfied (so far) with one of my "powersweeps" - have never seen them go near my beautiful torch or other corals.

OmarD

5. Jason McKenzie