Clown Fish Problems

Discussion in 'ASAP' started by southpaw9984, Feb 1, 2010.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. southpaw9984

    southpaw9984 Plankton

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Nitrite and Nitrate both 0
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. southpaw9984

    southpaw9984 Plankton

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    the surface has a lot of movement. Biowheel 200 and Kroalia 1500L/H
     
  4. coylee_17

    coylee_17 Fire Goby

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,337
    Location:
    Peterborough, Ontario, Can
    Yeah I know lots of people that do, I am debating running it on an upcoming predator tank. Expensive, but piece of mind when feeding live feeder fish.
     
  5. southpaw9984

    southpaw9984 Plankton

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    yeah I never intend on have inverts. This is a starter tank so I can learn the process. Once I have this fish only tank finally figured out, I plan on moving to a much larger coral/invert/fish tank.

    Right now though, I clearly have some issues.
     
  6. slocal

    slocal Torch Coral

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,188
    Location:
    Los Osos, CA
    You never answered this one.
     
  7. exoticsteve2001

    exoticsteve2001 Feather Duster

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    236
    Ok I havent heard of this before.I always saw short term use in hospital tanks.
     
  8. Click Here!

  9. coylee_17

    coylee_17 Fire Goby

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,337
    Location:
    Peterborough, Ontario, Can
    If you don't feed live foods and are done adding new fish you can stop your copper treating, just to save the money. If you don't plan on adding any new inhabitants and don't feed live food, then there is no way to add anything bad to the tank that would require you running copper to treat it. IMO
     
  10. coylee_17

    coylee_17 Fire Goby

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,337
    Location:
    Peterborough, Ontario, Can
    There are actually two types of copper you can run, copper sulphate and and ionic copper. The later is much more expensive, but IMO is the way to go.

    And sorry can't help much with the fish, is there any spots or anything on him? Like white grains of salt? Large spots? anything?
     
  11. southpaw9984

    southpaw9984 Plankton

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    I do Ro/di water changes from the local aquarium store. No problem about not being able to help out. This is odd to me too. I see nothing wrong with the fish on the outside. No spots or anything. This is frustrating but I guess there is nothing I can do really.
     
  12. exoticsteve2001

    exoticsteve2001 Feather Duster

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    236
    wont copper build up in the system and kill from to high of levels?
    I use uv sterilizers on all 3 reef tanks.