clam help, broken shell????

Discussion in 'ASAP' started by Reef Queen, Sep 17, 2011.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Reef Queen

Reef Queen Feather Duster

I was just doing some nightime viewing and noticed my little blue maximas shell seems to be broke...one side looks like it is gaping or not held together anymore or something! I will try to get a pic in the morning...but in the mean time heres a drawing i did...i am no artists so please excuse my lack of skills in the paint department...[​IMG]

what is this? Is he a goner? can i fix this somehow? i know it was not like this earlier because i did a waterchange and also i added calcium because it was a tad low, i only used one capful (which would only treat 50 gallons and i have a 120 with a 30 gal sump) idk if that had anything to do with it??? Oh i also used boiling water on some colonial hrdroids but i used less then a teaspoon and it was on the opposite side of the tank???can i somehow use a gumband and put him back together? he still responds to motion (withdraws a little as usual) but i do not know what this means in the long run! Ive grown attached to this particular fiance impluse buy and would rather not loose him if i can save him! Any info would be greatly appreciated because google has been no help! again sorry about my lack or skills...hopefully you guys can get what im trying (and failing) to draw!

OH also this drawing is from the top down, not the side incase you were wondering lol

Last edited: Sep 17, 2011
  2. Click Here!

3. reefmonkey

reefmonkey Giant Squid

The have an area on the underside where the shell seperates in kind of a tear drop shape. It's where their foot is. The clam should be upright and sitting on that area.

4. Reef Queen