CAD Software for Aquarium Build

Discussion in 'I made this!' started by NASAGeek, Feb 15, 2010.

  1. NASAGeek

    NASAGeek Torch Coral

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,180
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    I am just starting the design of a 250gal Plywood build. I intent is to comlplete design it, outfit it, plumb it, wire it, etc. in CAD first to make sure my design is perfect before cutting the first piece of wood.

    That way I can have all the experts on 3reef critique it and help me get it perfect.

    Thus, I need a simple to use CAD program. I don't need anything particularly fancy.

    Does anyone have any thoughts here on what to use??

    M
  2. Click Here!

  3. NASAGeek

    NASAGeek Torch Coral

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,180
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Does anyone have any experience with Google SketchUp??
  4. Otty

    Otty Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    6,465
    Location:
    Elizabethtown, IN
    Google SketchUp
    This is about the easiest to use. I started mine in Catia v12 but never finished it. I don't know of anything with AutoCAD that is for aquariums.
  5. Telgar

    Telgar Snowflake Eel

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,398
    Location:
    Ft Washington, MD
    this link has a FAQ and links to many of the various CAD products in use from free to pro.
  6. jmik26

    jmik26 Spanish Shawl Nudibranch

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    Messages:
    95
    Location:
    South Side of Chicago
    Google SketchUp gets my vote. Its free software and very powerful. It takes some getting use to but works perfect. Example below of how I used it to design my Stand... Jeff

    Attached Files:

  7. kookie_guy

    kookie_guy Spaghetti Worm

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    176
    Location:
    Newmarket, Ontario
    If you can get your hands on solid works, that's great software. Not cheap by any means, but super powerful. I used it to redesign a new drive system for my RC boat. You can check if everything fits and works before any production. I believe there are even load/stress simulations you can run to test your structures.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
  8. Click Here!

  9. zjpeter

    zjpeter Ritteri Anemone

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    609
    Location:
    Iowa
    i guess i'm fairly low tech. whenever i'm building a cabinet or anything like that i just break out the graphing paper and a ruler. i've tried SketchUp and thought it was cool. i just didn't have the patience to master it. if you're good at that sort of thing, i've seen some crazy good things done with SketchUp. for a free software i don't think you can find better
  10. Otty

    Otty Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    6,465
    Location:
    Elizabethtown, IN
    I want to see more pics of this boat..... ;D

  11. kookie_guy

    kookie_guy Spaghetti Worm

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    176
    Location:
    Newmarket, Ontario
    LOL. Will send PM
  12. NASAGeek

    NASAGeek Torch Coral

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,180
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    Keep in mind that I am a major NASA geek, so 3D modeling and such are something that I am used to. As arrogant as this sounds, and I don't mean it that way, it is just that I don't actually DO modeling at work.... I have people for that. I am that hopefully-not-too-annoying manager that asks modelers to do everything. Now, I get a taste of my own medicine.

    My real objective is that I want to plan out all the plumbing, wiring structure, etc. I am going to try have a "maximum efficency" design to get a big tank, sump, refugium, ATO, skimmer, etc in the minimum foot print while maximizing water volume.

    Spending 6 months designing and 6 months building is no problem. No rush. I played with Google SketchUp last night. It may work fine and its free.

    M