BRS two part

Discussion in 'Water Chemistry' started by Seacurchin, Mar 7, 2016.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Seacurchin

Seacurchin Astrea Snail

OK....not new to reefing but I am new to BRS two part dosing. I used to use bright well and ESV.
    So, I was doing daily testing and got nice numbers. But,I needed to know how much to daily dose so daily testing was not necessary.
    I got my numbers 1450mag,9.0alk,and 460 calc.
    I waited to test an entire week so I could figure the difference in my last tests numbers ,subtract the difference then divide by 7(representing days).
    My Mag did not change. I expected that. My Calc went up roughly 5ppm to 465. I knew that my Alk would be low. It was. It tested at 6.3.
    Last week's numbers were1450mag,460cal,and 9alk. This week's numbers 1450mag,465cal,6.3alk.
    The question is.....how is it only the Alk changed and why didn't calcium change? Hoe do I figure a daily dose(calcium) on a parameter that actually went up(Alk loss)? Thank you!

Last edited: Mar 7, 2016
  2. Click Here!

3. dub

dub Plankton

Calcium is much more abundant than Alkalinity so you could lose 50% of the available Alkalinity without seeing too much of a drop in Calcium. This makes it usually more important to keep an eye on the Alkalinity levels because it's more difficult to maintain than Calcium. I would keep testing the Calcium week to week tho to keep measuring if it's going up or down. Sometimes when measuring things like calcium with home test kits, you can be off by 10-20 so there is a chance that it's not actually going up.

Also, just another thought... depending on if you are making your own saltwater or buying it from your LFS, some salt mixtures have calcium added to it so you could be doing a water change and replacing your Calcium without realizing it.

4. greatwhitetang7

greatwhitetang7 Plankton