Broken off Zoa.....What to do?

Discussion in 'Coral Health' started by Johnnie Mac, May 23, 2009.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Johnnie Mac

Johnnie Mac Bristle Worm

I have a part of my Eagle Eye Zoanthid that broke off from the colony, about 12 polyps. I put a rock next to it to see if it will attach itself to it in the front corner of my tank ... Will this work or is there another method to get in onto the rock. Or do I just let it find a spot?...

I attached some pics for you to see...They are open now. seem healthy but never dealt with this before....:huh2:

Thank you

Attached Files:

2. Click Here!

3. PharmrJohn

PharmrJohn The Dude

4. Damsels R Cool

Damsels R Cool Millepora

you could glue them on with super glue GEL

5. offensetaken

offensetaken Montipora Digitata

I'm no pro at this by any means but imo you'd prob have better luck using a reef safe epoxy or reef safe super glue to attach it to the rock. I have heard of people using a rubberband or regular super glue but you might wanna wait until someone more familiar with this chimes in!

6. Peredhil

Peredhil Giant Squid

+1 I've done both. This works. In your current setup, it's likely the current or a crab or something might knock it free floating in your tank and you'll lose it only to find it attached, months later, exactly where you do not want it ;)

I'd use gel super glue. Like you find at walgreens. Glue out of the water to a rock. The zoa will be fine.

7. fish addict

fish addict Spaghetti Worm

super glue gel is a merical worker my favorite i highly recommend!!

1 person likes this.
  8. Click Here!

9. Trevdog

Trevdog Plankton

k+ for the super glue gel i use it on my Zoas. and if you don't want o reattach them you could always send them to me!!!

10. Johnnie Mac

Johnnie Mac Bristle Worm